FIAA • Foundation for
International Arbitration Advocacy

Rue du Pré-de-la-Bichette 1
Eleventh Floor
1202 Geneva

T: +41 22 308 0000
F: +41 22 308 0001
FIAA is a Swiss foundation with charitable and educational purposes. The seat of FIAA is in Geneva, Switzerland, which has a long tradition as one of the world’s leading centres for international arbitration.

FIAA has a two-tier governance structure:
(a) The Board of Trustees is responsible for general oversight of FIAA’s activities and assets and provides support for FIAA in the international arbitration community.

(b) The Executive Committee is responsible for the planning and operation of FIAA’s activities and programs.

These two bodies bring internationally renowned advocacy instructors together with a prestigious group of leading arbitration practitioners representing jurisdictions worldwide and major arbitral institutions.


Essam Al Tamimi Al Tamimi & Company UAE
John Beechey ICC International Court of Arbitration
Prof. Piero Bernardini Studio Legale Ughi e Nunziante Italy
Sheila R. Block Torys LLP Canada
Prof. Teresa Cheng, S.C. Des Voeux Chambers Hong Kong
Dushyant Dave, S.A. Senior Advocate India
Donald F. Donovan Debevoise & Plimpton LLP USA
L. Yves Fortier, C.C., Q.C. Cabinet Yves Fortier Canada
Paul D. Friedland White & Case LLP USA
Prof. Emmanuel Gaillard Shearman & Sterling LLP France
Elliott Geisinger Swiss Arbitration Association Switzerland
Prof. Martin Hunter Essex Court Chambers England
Michael Hwang, S.C. Senior Counsel Singapore
India Johnson American Arbitration Association  
Prof. Gabrielle Kaufmann-Kohler* Lévy Kaufmann-Kohler Switzerland
Prof. Alexander Komarov International Arbitration Court Russia
Prof. Fidelis Oditah, Q.C., S.A.N. 3/4 South Square Chambers Nigeria
Prof. Francisco Orrego Vicuña Francisco Orrego Vicuña & Co Chile
William W. Park London Court of International Arbitration
Jan Paulsson Three Crowns LLP France
Dr. Klaus Sachs CMS Hasche Sigle Germany
Michael E. Schneider Lalive Switzerland
Prof. James H. Seckinger University of Notre Dame USA
Jingzhou Tao Dechert LLP China
Prof. Guido Tawil M. & M. Bomchil Argentina
Prof. Pierre Tercier University of Fribourg Switzerland
Prof. Albert Jan van den Berg Hanotiau & van den Berg Netherlands
David A.R. Williams, Q.C. Bankside Chambers New Zealand
Dr. Markus Wirth Homburger AG Switzerland

* President of the Board of Trustees


Christian Camboulive Gide Loyrette Nouel France
Marinn Carlson Sidley Austin LLP USA
Nicholas Fletcher QC 4 New Square England
Eduardo D. Gonçalves Mattos Filho Advogados Brazil
Stephen Jagusch Quinn Emanuel Urquhart & Sullivan, LLP England
Shreyas Jayasimha Aarna Law India
Brian King Freshfields Bruckhaus & Deringer USA
Fernando Mantilla-Serrano Latham & Watkins LLP France
Andrew McDougall* White & Case LLP France
Isabelle Michou Herbert Smith Freehills LLP France
Wendy Miles Boies, Schiller & Flexner LLP England
Michael Ostrove DLA Piper LLP France
Eun-Young Park Kim & Chang Korea
David Roney Sidley Austin LLP Switzerland
Howard Rosen FTI Consulting Inc. Canada
Ank Santens White & Case LLP USA
Matthias Scherer Lalive Switzerland
John Terry Torys LLP Canada
Michael Young Allen & Overy LLP France
Roland Ziadé Linklaters LLP France

* Chair of the Executive Committee


The Founders of FIAA are Sheila R. Block, Gabrielle Kaufmann-Kohler, David P. Roney and James H. Seckinger.

Sheila R. Block is the senior litigation partner with Torys LLP in Toronto and is widely recognized as one of the leading advocates in Canada. She has appeared as counsel at all levels of court in Ontario and before the Federal Court and the Supreme Court of Canada as well as before international arbitral tribunals. Ms. Block has spoken and written extensively on trial advocacy. She has taught advocacy for the National Institute of Trial Advocacy (NITA) and for various leading law firms and other organizations in Canada, the U.S., El Salvador, England, France, New Zealand, Scotland and Switzerland, as well as for the U.N. War Crimes Tribunal in Rwanda and the Special Court in Sierra Leone.

Gabrielle Kaufmann-Kohler is a founding partner of Lévy Kaufmann-Kohler in Geneva and a professor of private international law and dispute resolution at the University of Geneva Law School. She has acted in over 120 international commercial and investment arbitrations, either as presiding, sole or party-appointed arbitrator or as counsel. Professor Kaufmann-Kohler was President of the Swiss Arbitration Association (ASA) from 2001 to 2005 and is now an Honorary President and Board Member of ASA. She is a member of the International Council for Commercial Arbitration (ICCA), the ICC International Court of Arbitration, the Board of the American Arbitration Association and the Board of the Swiss International Law Society.

David P. Roney is a partner with Sidley Austin LLP in Geneva, specializing in international commercial arbitration. He is admitted as a Barrister and Solicitor, Ontario, Canada and as a Solicitor, England and Wales. Mr. Roney has acted as counsel before international arbitral tribunals in a broad range of commercial disputes and has served as arbitrator under the ICC Rules, the Swiss Rules and in ad hoc arbitration. He is active in a number of international arbitration organizations, including the ICC Commission on Arbitration, and is a Visiting Lecturer at the Geneva Master in International Dispute Settlement Program jointly offered by the University of Geneva Law School and Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies.

James H. Seckinger is one of the leading trial advocacy instructors in the USA and has been a faculty member at the University of Notre Dame Law School since 1974. He has been involved with the National Institute of Trial Advocacy (NITA) since its inception in 1972 and was the Director of NITA from 1979 to 1994. Professor Seckinger is a much published author of advocacy books and articles, as well as materials on teaching and learning lawyer skills through simulated learn-by-doing exercises. Professor Seckinger has directed and taught in workshops on trial and arbitration advocacy skills at prestigious law firms and legal organizations around the world. He organized and taught advocacy skills for the U.N. War Crimes Tribunal for Rwanda and the Special Court for Sierra Leone. Professor Seckinger has conducted in advocacy skills programs throughout the U.S. and Canada, and in Australia, El Salvador, England, France, New Zealand, Panama, Scotland, Singapore and Switzerland.


FIAA wishes to extend its sincere thanks to Ernst & Young (Switzerland) for agreeing to serve as auditor of the foundation:

Home About FIAA Programs Useful Links Contact Us Terms of Use
© 2018 FIAA. All Rights Reserved.